Placebo Wordz, paroles et traductions des chansons de Placebo

Protect Me From What I Want, Sleeping With Ghosts, (Placebo lyrics, explanations and press quotes)

20 Janvier 2008 , Rédigé par Placebo Wordz Publié dans #ENGLISH SWG

PLACEBO WORDZ
Placebo Songs commented
by Brian, Steve and Stefan

 
PLACEBO WYIN BMM SWG MEDS BATTLE B-SIDES COVERS COLLAB.
 
A to Z PRESS LINKS HOME French Section


 

 

 

Protect Me From What I Want
(Sleeping With Ghosts)
Lyrics and explanation


Bulletproof Cupid - Placebo

Lyrics : Placebo
Protect Me From What I Want
It's the disease of the age
It's the disease that we crave
Alone at the end of the rave
We catch the last bus home
Corporate America wakes
Coffee Republic and cakes
We open the latch on the gate
Of the hole that we call a home

Protect me from what I want

Maybe we're victims of fate
Remember when we'd celebrate
We'd drink and get high until late
And now we're all alone
Wedding bells ain't gonna chime
With both of us guilty of crime
And both of us sentenced to time
And now we're all alone

Protect me from what I want
Press Quotes
(Translation, quote in French here)

"For me, it's the study of the pathological need to copulate that people have, the search for a meaning in copulation. As if single people or monogamous were extraterrestrials. As if we are a whole only when being  two. The song refers to the fact that a relationship destroyed me, but I can't help myself to look for another one ... Why do I always bring myself back to that?

Brian Molko, Rock & Folk n°428 April 2003
 

(Translation, quote in French here)

"I composed it during Black Market Music at the same time as I'll Be Yours. This is two songs you vomit, which came out of me without my being aware of it. At the time I was weak. I was caught in a painful divorce and I needed to express it. My twenties looks like a second adolescence. As I grew up in Luxembourg and that there was nothing to do there, when I signed the contract for Placebo, I made my crisis. Now, I work it out, I feel better, I'm happy. This is not necessarily because I just turned 30 years old, but rather because I feel less naive, a little more used to manage my emotions. I think there is an age when it's more difficult for our bodies to recover from abuse. Particularly when one is in a rock band where it is almost de rigueur to be drunk, to be decadent. To be honest, it interests me less and less.
 
Brian Molko, Les Inrockuptibles N°382 : March-April 2003
 

Brian: "Written when I was hurting deeply and coming out of a very self-destructive relationship, hence the creepy atmosphere".
 
Brian Molko, interview, Rock Sound, April 2003
 
Sleeping With GhostsPLACEBO WORDZ HOME

 

 

Partager cet article

Commenter cet article